Very comfortable relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff with great sense of humour – the kitchen is open and the staff are available to talk over selections. As well as the great selection on the menu there are also board specials – all at prices that belie the quality of the food and the presentation. The wine list has a great selection of wines all reasonably priced; its amazing that you can get a meal in London of superior quality to anything available in Southampton at a lower price!
There is something for everyone on the menu, course by course. Can’t recommend highly enough.

Pete, London, 30/09/14


We arrived 15 minutes early for our booked table, but were seated straightaway by staff. I had the wild mushroom risotto to start and brie filled chicken breast for main and my partner had the grilled mackerel fillets for starter and salmon fillet for main, both of which were from the specials board. The portions were all of a good size and very tasty, having been fresh and well seasoned. The staff were very friendly and attentive, without being intrusive. The menu is not extensive, but there are enough choices of starters, mains and desserts to please most diners. We enjoyed our meal and will definitely return.

Paula, London, 28/09/14


We stumbled across this restaurant after asking a local where to eat before seeing a play at the Old Vic. We were told “Waterloo takes its ingredients seriously” and “its just behind the theatre.” Restaurant was unpretentious, specials of the day creative and seasonal, service was impeccable without being stuffy. Vibe is casual, with the kitchen largely visible to customers, and the (delighted) expressions on customers’ faces visible to the kitchen staff as well! The manager was on the floor, helping to serve dishes and giving the odd piece of advice about wine pairings when a waiter asked. Altogether a gem of a find! When you see a play at the Old Vic, book a table here beforehand, and try the specials as well as the regular menu if you’re tempted.

Nathalie, Canada, 22/09/14


I can’t imagine why anyone going to the Old Vic and wanting to combine it with some good food would go anywhere else. It’s right next door. The service is efficiently charming, and the team seems to work well together. The food is excellent and well presented. The daily experience of dealing with theatre-goers means that food comes quickly and diners get attention when they want it. The room is comfortable without being glamourous.

We had fish – there seems to be plenty on the menu. Haddock with a poached egg and hollandaise sauce was excellent – as was the sea bass cooked Thai style with a prawn rice that had just enough piquancy without detracting from the fish.

I could almost choose a play at the Old Vic just to come back here and try some more of this menu.

Jazzer, Derby, 14/09/14


Delightful little restaurant near our hotel. We had the mushroom risotto, a goat cheese appetizer, the pork belly appetizer, and the halibut, all cooked to perfection. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our meal and the ambience of the restaurant. We would return for another meal.

Franklin, USA, 13/09/14


After seeing “Warhorse” in Drury Lane, walked back to Waterloo for our train, and decided to eat at the Waterloo Bar & Kitchen.
We had not booked, but the very friendly waitress/manager found us a secluded table for two, where we had a great meal.
I had Ribeye Steak which was cooked to perfection, and my wife had their home-made salmon fish cakes. I tasted them and they too were delicious!
We were not rushed, our meal was great and the wine was to die for.
Thank you the Waterloo Bar & Kitchen.

John, Kent, 10/08/14


Unassuming restaurant near the Waterloo Station – had walked by it all week on a business trip and then went in on the last night of my London stay. Should have gone in sooner – the food is fantastic!

Service was great especially since all of the tables were full when we went. Great selection of fish and meats. Had the Sea Bass which was amazing. Not a wine fan but they have an extensive selection and the staff is well educated on the choices.

Pricing was very good.

One of the best restaurants in London I have gone to.

Doug, London, 27/07/14


I organised a dinner for a group of 30 colleagues here which can always be a little daunting (will the food be ok for everyone, will the service be good etc, etc). All I can say is I wish every venue could take a leaf from the book of Waterloo Bar and Kitchen. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were in their private function room downstairs which worried me a little as the restaurant upstairs was full but I needn’t have worried, orders were taken promptly and food served without delay. The menu was varied and I had no complaints from anyone regarding their dishes, the contrary in fact, the high quality managed to break the poor image of British cuisine for a lot of the foreigners around the table.

I wouldn’t hesitate to take a group or go privately again.

Blondey, Belgium, 10/07/2014


Having never found anywhere that pleasing round Waterloo, it was Trip Advisor punters who pointed us to the Bar + Kitchen just behind the Old Vic. Buzzy, even on a Tuesday night (with Brazil on TV about to be smashed 7-1 by Germany) – the welcome was great and the table spacious. Wine (good value Spanish red and South African white) was well -priced and quickly presented, together with glasses of fresh water. The menu was tempting but concise. The vegetarians (two) had wild mushroom rissotto as the starter – and both agreed it was the best they’d ever enjoyed of this commonly listed dish in a restaurant – and then followed with the pan-fried halloumi – same celebration and level of praise (ungreasy, quality cheese, vegetables steamed and deliciously underexploited). The pescatorians just raved on about their main course cod they chose – claiming similarly it was the best they’d tasted in London – both in terms of quality and culinary cooking skill. All food seemed low on unnecessary calories and very adequate portions. Nobody felt a need to sample desserts but, based on our experience so far, they probably wouldn’t have disappointed us.The ambience of the place was great – we didn’t get pestered and could catch up with each other after a long gap. And suddenly by 10.00p.m it was no longer crowded. Second half kick-off tempting them away after five first half goals against the host? Waterloo Bar + Kitchen scored at all stages for us!

Giles, London, 09/07/2014


We were visiting for the Tour de France and were just strolling looking for somewhere to eat when we chanced upon this restaurant. Four of us dined, including our strictly veggie daughter and we all found choices which suited us perfectly. The food was delicious and the service just the right balance of professional and friendly. We shall return!

Upton, Cornwall, 04/07/2014


We ate here again on a Saturday night before going to the Old Vic (we had intended to eat after but the staff were well informed and said although they would be happy to serve us we would probably be the only ones in as the play finished so late! – good advice)
The quality of the food and the level of service was as good as our previous visit. The only niggle I had was the champagne I chose was out of stock and I was offered a replacement – however at a higher price. I do think in those circumstances the difference should be borne by the restaurant – I know the margins would allow it.
That said there is little doubt that we shall eat there again when going to the theatre.

David, Kendal, 02/07/2014


Three of us chose the Sunday Roast special and it was delicious. Two beef dishes arrived with massive Yorkshire puddings whilst the pork was divine with crackling that was to die for! Bottle of house red which was very drinkable indeed at the money plus great starters that were very well presented and desserts that rounded off an extremely good value pre theatre dinner! We will be back! – Great find next to The Old Vic!

Phil, Wellingborough, 09/06/14


We found this restaurant by chance when looking for a place to take friends near Waterloo Station. It is only a 5 minute walk from it. We were so pleased with everything that we have gone back twice already and now we would not go anywhere else if near Waterloo station.
Service is the number one feature. They are so attentive, have the right number of service staff to customers, and the front of house were perceptive and charming. The timing of food is spot on and if you are going to the theatre they will ensure you get there on time!
The food is a very high quality and good portion sizes – not too much but also not the tiny portions you sometimes get at top end establishments.
The atmosphere is excellent. What sets them apart is that although they must know the quality of their food (and wine) is top end – there is not the slightest whiff of pretentiousness, arrogance or complancency and rather a feel of down to earth friendliness.
The prices follow suit, so whilst not cheap, you feel the prices are fair and you come away feeling you have just had a really good experience, so paying c. £15 for a main actually seems very reasonable.
We look forward to next time.

Vaughan, London, 02/06/2014


Had a wonderful dinner at Waterloo Bar and Kitchen with relatives. The environment is unpretentious. The service was good and unobtrusive. There was a nice selection of wines. Starters were generous: we had the chicken liver pate (with toast points and beetroot jus) and melted goat cheese with olives, both good. I had the sea bass with Thai flavoring and coconut/shrimp rice which was delicious. Others had crusted cod with lemon sauce and chicken with Brie, which seemed to be appreciated. We shared a tart tatin with apples and ice cream which enjoyed by all. This is a good local restaurant behind the Old Vic on Waterloo Road and a very short walk to Waterloo Station. Recommended.

Ann Arbor, Michigan, 15/05/14


We hired the private dining room last night and had a wonderful time. The staff were on hand 24/7 and nothing was too much trouble. Food, drink, surroundings were better than expected and we will definitely be returning!
A little gem that I am glad we have found.

Claudine S, Esher, 09/05/14


We last reviewed this brasserie in May 2012 and the restaurant remains as good now as then. Clearly, its location is superb being across the road from Waterloo station and part of the theatre building.
The food was very good. We would recommend the duck salad and also the steak.  The menu is quite extensive and they also have specials on a blackboard.  The service was good and the server asked us whether we were going to the theatre.
The wine list is very extensive and there are are inexpensive wines to be had.
It has a good atmosphere as a restaurant with many people going on to the theatre. We would certainly recommend this restaurant and it is definitely the right venue if you are going to the Old Vic – which is right next door!

Ian, London, 08/05/14


Good food – I would particularly recommend the crab roulade – at prices very fair for London. Differentiator was the excellent service, particularly from Francis – always arriving at the right moment, offering a newspaper while I waited for my colleague, bringing a flash of wit and good sense.

Waterloo Bar is set up for the pre-theatre trade and is crammed from 1830 to 1930. They find out whether you have a play to catch, and adjust the pace to match.

Dorinho, London, 11/04/14


This was my first time at Bar & Kitchen, although my partner had been there before. We were there for a pre-theatre meal. The service was very efficient. The food was freshly cooked and arrived in good time for us to have a leisurely meal before going to The Old Vic.

Lottie, London, 08/04/14


We usually eat elsewhere when in the Waterloo area so this was somewhere new to try. What a good choice!  Every course was delicious and the fish was to die for. Service was attentive but not overpowering and there was a great atmosphere. We shall return!

Tom, London, 14/03/14


Though there are other places to eat in Waterloo, I can’t see why one would want to eat anywhere else when going to a play at the Old Vic. The menu has lots of choice; there’s a decent wine list; the staff are super-friendly and the meal can be enjoyed comfortably in about 75 minutes. Did I mention it tastes pretty good too? And you are just around the corner from the theatre itself.

Flick, London, 11/03/14


The Waterloo Bar and Kitchen is an unpretentious restaurant with a good assortment of meat and fish dishes. It’s the perfect spot to dine if you’re going to the Old or Young Vic, both of which are very close. I ordered the Salmon Fish Cakes which included 3 good size cakes and very tasy chips. There are several starter salads and nice desserts. Definitely going to go again when in the area.

Allie, London, 01/03/14


Whenever in Waterloo, I always eat here. I take for granted how good the food is. I wasn’t disappointed on this occasion: my Thai fish and prawn rice was delicious. My husband had the steak which he said was very good. The brownie with hot chocolate sauce and ice cream was very good if a little big (obviously that is not a problem!) and my husbands pear and frangipani tart was lovely. The valpolicella was also very good and an inexpensive red ( and tasty) wine for Central london.

Sara, London, 08/03/14


Had a fantastic family lunch here on Sunday. The menu was varied with a few meat, fish and vegetarian options. Desserts, starters and wine list were excellent. 9 of us ate here including children and it really was fantastic. The staff were excellent and very friendly. Will definitely be returning here.

Emma, London, 23/02/14


I must admit to eating in this restaurant at least one every few months. It never disappoints apart from the fact it is sometimes difficult to get a table. Why would I recommend it. Firstly it has the feel of a local restaurant which the tourists don’t know about. The staff are amazing….they are what I call professional which is sometimes quite difficult to find in London …friendly, knowledgeable, attentive and always up for a chat – otherwise they just do a great job. Its classy with great attention to detail. The tables have REAL linen tablecloths as are the napkins. The food is really delicious. It has individual, roomy and lots of ladies toilets. Its not owned by a private equity company. I could go on and on but I don’t want to encourage lots of people to go.

Mary, London, 18/02/14


We reckon we’ve been coming to the Waterloo Bar and Kitchen for almost 10 years now. It is always good and the menu changes just frequently enough. We were pleased to see an old favourite back on the specials menu! I had liver on this occasion as did two other in the party. It was very good, pink in the middle and well seared on the outside. We regularly meet up in the Waterloo area – every couple of months or so and we’ve tried pretty much all the other restaurants in the area and we keep coming back here. I expect we’ll be coming back for another 10 years!

Rita, Woking, 11/02/14


Visited as a group of 4 people. Even on a Monday the place was busy. Restaurants in this area are typically chains or have terrible food, knowing there will be plenty of foot fall from Waterloo station. I was very pleasantly surprised by the food and the good service. Would recommend to friends.

James, London, 29/01/14


Visited this for the second time on a trip to London. Although it can get noisy (there was a very convivial party in the corner celebrating someone’s birthday) it didn’t detract from the excellence of the service and the food. I love fish and the menu here is really good – innovative and perfectly cooked and presented. I had the halibut which was an unctuous slab of deliciousness with perfectly judged seasoning (which lingered – what WAS it?)
Don’t be put off by the restaurant’s external appearance – could be called slightly functional. But once inside, you’re in for a treat. this one’s marked as a favourite for London.

Rowena, Cumbira, 13/01/14


We were going to the Old Vic in the evening and wanted to see the Andy Gott photography exhibition at Somerset House so were in the area and having bypassed a couple of pubs and a gourmet burger place came across this restaurant almost by accident tucked in beside the Old Vic. So at 2.30pm on a wet Wednesday we went in. Many restaurants get a bit sniffy about late lunchers but we were warmly welcomed by the front of house and given a nice booth table (it is mostly traditional tables in here). Most starters are near to £7 and most mains £15-16 and there are specials on the board and they take their wines very seriously and – unlike others I did not find them overly priced. The risotto and belly of pork starters were perfectly cooked and generous and the lamb rump and confit de canard mains cooked to Parisian bistro standards. The service was delightful and with a full bottle of red and coffees the bill was £76 including the now obligatory 12.5%. We also saw the arrival of the evening staff who all greeted each other like best of friends and watched (from a distance) a wine supplier introducing the staff to the pedigree and tastes of all the white wines on the menu.
So in summary this restaurant is a keeper for us and one of the nicest set of staff we have come across.

Richard, High Wycombe, 10/01/14


Just steps away from Waterloo Station and The Old Vic Theatre, the Waterloo Bar + Kitchen is a good choice pre or post Showtime. We made a 5:30pm reservation, arrived a few minutes early and were welcomed and seated immediately. Service thoughout the meal was attentive, even as patrons arrived, including one large party. The wine list was a good size and each selection had helpful comments. We chose an Argentinian Viognier, which was complex and interesting as expected. For Starters, the Smoked Scottish Salmon was tasty and plentiful. Brie Stuffed Chicken Breast and a side of French Fries were delicious. The Roasted Halibut with creamed Leeks in Saffron Sauce and Fondant Potato didn’t quite hit the mark. The confluence of flavours wasn’t to our taste for some reason, although the dish seemed well prepared. The Brownie with Hot Fudge Sauce and Vanilla Ice Cream needed to be brought up a notch to be truly delicious and seemed more suited to a family restaurant instead of fine dining establishment. Location and service make it a winner. We would return again to sample other menu choices.

Gayle Cook, Canada, 30/12/13


Arrived early for a 7.30 booking and the maitre d’ could not have been more accommodating. Despite the lack of a bar area at this time of year to maximise dining space, the maitre d’ showed us to a table and welcomed us to have a drink before being shown to our booked table. At the booked time we were moved to our table. The waiter was really pleasant and helpful and the food was delicious. Lovely warm squid and chorizo salad followed by a well cooked ribeye steak with proper fries and bearnaise sauce with a side of perfectly wilted spinach. The restaurant has an extensive wine list with plenty of choice at every price point.
First visit, but definitely not the last

Chris Rutter, London, 20/12/13


Bar and Kitchen, at the back of the Old Vic, specialises in pre-theatre meals. We went after the theatre and were served very quickly indeed. It was surprisingly empty at that hour. We were served very quickly and efficiently. The food (esp the starters and fish dishes) was excellent and good value.

David, London, 28/12/13

I booked a table for 6 at the restaurant and enjoyed not only excellent food but also fantastic service. The French waitress was very good with recommending food and wine. I was last at the restaurant several years ago and was please to see that the standard is still high. There is no ‘bar’ area – but you can comfortably have drinks at the table before the meal. It is very close to Waterloo station and therefore a convenient meeting place when organising a group for a meal in the City.

Well done Waterloo Bar and Kitchen.

Justin R, London, 18/11/13


We’ve eaten at Waterloo Bar&Kitchen before and so were already fans of the place. We didn’t book but arrived not long after five when we guessed the restaurant would not be too busy. Serving staff are swift cheerful and efficient. The food well cooked and very good value for money. I never have the feeling of being rushed here no matter how full the place gets. It’s the perfect place for a pre theatre meal as The Old Vic is right next door, and Waterloo station is practically over the road!

- Miranda Jacobs, Southampton, 02/11/2013


The restaurant is very conveniently sited for the Old Vic theatre. The food which was excellent and good value was served in an efficient and very timely manner. We would recommend this restaurant for a pre theatre meal.

- Carol, London, 24/10/2013


Went for a quick lunch with some friends on a Saturday whilst in Waterloo. The Maitre D and waiting staff were very attentive, catering for one of my friend’s food allergy whilst also unofficially extending their breakfast times for another friend who was feeling a little poorly. They were more than happy to cater for the mix of those of us drinking wine whilst others had tea and coffee. The food itself was wonderful, always perfectly cooked modern British fare, well presented and delicious. The restaurant’s exterior is completely unassuming as the interior is warm and inviting, and even more comfortable if you are a group with a booth. A delight I would certainly visit again.

- Daniel Jackson, London, 13/10/2013


Waterloo Bar&Kitchen is one of my favourite restaurants for pre or post Old Vic theatre performance, or for meeting with a group of friends. The food and drinks are good for the reasonable prices, and good choice with a flexible menu of small or large portions and happy to serve only starters or whatever. Friendly staff and nice atmosphere. If you are in the area a great find without breaking the bank.

- Andy, Kingston, 4/09/2013


We met friends here for our first visit. We all arrived into Waterloo station and we were pleasantly surprised by just how close by the restaurant was. The welcome was very good and we were quickly shown to our table and the menu and wine list was handed over. I quickly ordered a bottle of Pinot Grigio which was very crisp and tasty. For starter 3 of us went for the goats cheese tart, which was delicious. The halibut I had for my main course was very large and very meaty and cooked to perfection, accompanied by some fondant potatoes. This a definite addition to our list of favourite eating places and we look forward to our return.

- Michelle Page, London, 02/09/2013


We would probably walk passed this restaurant as it looks a bit of a big unwelcoming room, but we found it to be completely the opposite. Lovely service a lively atmosphere excellent bottle of shiraz, very tasty goats cheese starter, nice chips and a not bad entrecote steak I think sums it up. Will definitely return to this tasty eaterie behind the Old Vic!

- Sally Gifford, London, 26/08/2013


We had been to see the Jersey boys play at the Prince Edward theatre which I must say was very good. Great value for money and great service. We realised we had to be away by 9pm as we had a train to catch from Waterloo station just across the road, and the waitress made sure of this even thought the restaurant was very busy. My husband had the chicken pate for starter and I had the goats cheese tart. I had the cod and mash for main and my husband wanted the steak but sadly they had run out so she offered him the lamb instead. We both really loved our food although a little rushed as we hadn’t realised the last train back to Gerrards Cross was 9.30pm – otherwise we would have had to wait until 10.46pm! The glass of prosecco was very welcoming as well. Overall a very satisfying meal and if we are around that area again we will return!

- Ben Brown, Putney, 29/07/2013


Round the back of the Old Vic and a stone’s throw away from Waterloo restaurant lies a little gem of a restaurant which offered bundles of character and as decent menu. Enjoyed a menu special of calves liver which was accompanied by a gorgeous onion gravy. Evening went with a swing with old friends and we ended up indulging in 3 courses and more alcohol than anticipated for a Tuesday night.

- Alfred Jones, London, 13/06/2013


Having been to The Old Vic for the matinee of ‘Kiss Me Kate’ to celebrate my husband’s birthday we then ate here. There were four of us for drinks, a three course meal with wine and coffee plus a friend from the cast of the show who had a drink and main course and the bill was just under £200. All the food was excellent with good friendly service. We were not rushed or hassled for the table even though we were in the restaurant from 5.30 till 8.30. I cannot rate this place too highly.

- Tilly, London, 11/05/2013


Waterloo Bar & Kitchen, on Waterloo Road – (just at back of Old Vic Theatre). Called in for lunch- either book or arrive early, this place is popular. Tidy, unpretentious, good menu (focussed); classical influences on traditional british fayre – almost bistro prices. Extensive wine list. Professional & friendly staff. Popular with pre-theatre crowd. Highly recommended. Goats cheese tart with sweet onion and date – sublime. Duck confit main course – super. Will call again. Nice sunny day over London – occasionally eclipsed by red double-decker – nice ambience. Would like to visit on an evening.

- Mary Choi, London, 08/05/2013


We had booked a table for 8 on a Thursday night and enjoyed a fantastic evening with good quality food and very attentive yet non-intrusive service. One of our party was vegan and at the time of booking they confirmed that they could accommodate that. The chef had actually put together a little 3-course menu, just for my husband (the vegan). The wine served by the glass was soso, but when we decided to order some of their French wine by the bottle we were not disappointed.

- Ali Hamzous, London, 19/04/2013


The location is very convenient to meet up with people living all over London as its right next to Waterloo station. The waiter also asked if we wanted to run separate tabs per couple, which was refreshing with so many places not allowing split billing. I would definitely go back!

- Shila Grudner, London, 22/03/2013


Monday lunchtime is not a popular time for a three course lunch and many local restaurants even close. WB&G made us feel incredibly welcome though, and we stayed three hours to enjoy a lovely long and lazy lunch. A real pleasure.

- Nick Daniels, London, 10/01/2013


A quick non-stressful pre-theatre dinner, two seconds away from the Old Vic theatre, three seconds away from Waterloo Station! I’d ordered the halibut with the braised cabbage and spinach in lemon butter, rather than the saffron creamed leeks, with no fuss or confusion. We even had time for dessert. A wonderful dinner followed by a wonderful performance of The Winslow Boy.

- Ewalina Smith, London, 05/01/2012